Landing Tweets – Group Writing Project Announcement

Bird Footprints

This is a bit of an experiment which I hope you’ll be just as excited about as I am.  If you look up at the top of my site you’ll see a tab called @amypalko.  Now some of you may be familiar with it already, because that’s where you arrived upon clicking through from my Twitter homepage, as this is my Twitter Landing Page.

Landing pages are a great idea to implement on your blog.  As I’ve mentioned once before, it’s important to direct traffic towards your online home(s), and one easy and effective way to do this is by creating a landing page.  So, over the next month I would like to challenge you to produce your own landing page.  It doesn’t, in fact, need to be specifically aimed at Twitter; you could create a landing page which all of your social media homepages point to.  What it does need to do, however, is to give your visitors an idea of who you are, what you’re about, why they should follow you and where else they can connect with you.

Over the month of May, I would like to see an explosion of landing pages!

If you’re looking for advice, or have a question about landing pages, get in touch either by leaving a comment or send me an @ or dm  on Twitter, and next Monday I’ll be sharing a brief guide to writing a landing page in which I’ll do my best to answer any of your queries.  Over the coming month, I’ll be showcasing some of my favourites, so if you’re in need of some inspiration before you have a go at writing your own, hopefully you’ll find it here.  Once you have your landing page (or if you already have one), leave a comment here, I’ll come & check it out, and then I’ll share it with my Twitter followers & the readers of this blog.

At the end of May, I’ll compile a post with links to the landing pages of all who have participated.

So what do you say? Are you in?

25 responses to “Landing Tweets – Group Writing Project Announcement

  1. Yep, count me in. Already working one, working being the key word.

  2. I’m in! Great idea, thanks Amy! :o)

  3. You inspired me to do my own landing page which I did and yesterday was complimented on it – I think I might give it some new love and attention though!

  4. Oh my goodness, more technical stuff. I’ll give it a go but I can’t promise not to break anything.

  5. What a good idea. I have a landing page but often don’t use it correctly. here it is
    http://www.changingpeople.co.uk/blog/2009/welcome/
    I’ll b einterested to hear what people think!
    Jane

  6. Ok, I’m intrigued but with no idea on what or how to do it. I like it, though, and will try and do my own.

  7. Well, this certainly looks like a good idea Amy.

    You can definitely count me in!

    Matt

  8. celticlibrarian

    I’m in. For my home account, anyway. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Landing Tweets Group Writing Project } Group Writing Projects

  10. Pingback: The Peacock Guide to Landing Pages « AmyPalko

  11. Oh, yeah, I’m SO in. I’ll not only be using it to send others to, but also as my homepage, an easy reference point for all my sites, social and otherwise. Everything just a click away. Love it. Also as a Twitter background so have to remember that when I’m setting it up……. Ideas, ideas, ideas! First my website has to be finalized, though. This will be my very next project though. I so need a good landing page.
    Thanks, Amy!

  12. that is fantastic 🙂

  13. Hey Amy,

    I have to admit even though I love you, love Darren & Pistachio, I just really don’t get the landing page.

    I hate extra clicks, I want to get to meat, so that’s why I have who, what ,where, why & how questions on the landing page of my website.

    That’s what I want to know in a nutshell when I look at a blog.

    Can you convince me why I need a landing page? I do get a ton of traffic from Twitter without one.

    I’m not trying to be argumentative, just looking for the answer. So much information, so many things to do, so little time….so one must weigh what is essential.

    I like the idea of it, but not sure it is really valuable for me or not. Ideas anyone?

  14. SoulTravellers3 – I would never propose that the way I use Twitter, landing page & all, is the only & right way. I’m only proposing that it’s a way that may prove advantageous to others.

    The way I see the Twitter landing page is that it gives me a place to expand upon my 140 character bio, it allows me to explain how I use Twitter & for what reason, albeit in generalist terms, and it allows me to show potential followers where else they can connect with me on the net.

    In other words, it’s still the meat – it’s just been attractively packaged & made digestible for any potential follower 🙂
    Amy
    xx

  15. I’m in Amy. My tweets are both personal and business related, but my site & blog is mostly business. Would help to have a SM landing page that helps sort that out.

  16. I’ve had a landing page for a little bit now, but am sure it could be improved. You can see it here:
    http://adventure-some.com/about/about-matthew-adventuresome/

  17. Amy, just the push I’ve needed to tackle an overdo task on my list. I’m working on it and will come back and let you know. Hope I’m not too late!

  18. I’m in – my is in the works and will be live with many other web changes in mid-June… better late than never!

  19. I’m in. Especially since for once I find I’m not too late. 🙂

  20. Pingback: A Step By Step Method For Writing Landing Pages « AmyPalko

  21. This is a great idea Amy — I’m in!

  22. Amy, life’s interfering again so my landing page isn’t finished. However, I DO have my logo ‘idea’ solidified and am going to use my FriendFeed widget (shows all my socials w/a clickthrough format) along w/a short blurb about me, my address (P.O. Box) and my work cell number. I look forward to seeing the contest winners and I’ll TRY to get mine done tonight even though I missed the deadline. Gotta have limits. 🙂

  23. Pingback: Landing Tweets Results « AmyPalko

Leave a Reply

